Junior Merit 2017

Shropshire Junior Merit 2017 – Sunday 16th July 2017 – Meole Brace 16 of the county’s young bowlers and their families gathered at the chosen by deputy president, Isobel Jones venue of Meole Brace to contest the 2017 running of the county junior merit. And as the day’s proceedings unfolded, it became clear to see at the Shrewsbury, the spectators were in for a treat of viewing some fine bowling from the young talent on show.
Semi Finals: Harry Church was in a determined mood as he opened up an 11-1 & 14-2 lead over Matt Parry and carried through to 19-6 and despite, Matt taking 3 consecutive ends, he couldn’t stop Harry as he ended the game 21-9. Susie Lawson was equally building a healthy 9-1 & 12-3 lead until Josh Warner fought back to level the game at 13-13 and even led 17-15 from which the game then became a very tight affair with neither giving anything until at 19-20, Susie bagged herself a double to hand her a 21-20 win. Final: Harry Church started strongly against his county team mate, Susie Lawson as he opened up a 10-1(8ends) lead which soon became 15-6(16ends) and without allowing his opponent to score any double point ends in the game as Harry eventually closed out the luckless Susie to win 21-8(22ends) and to go with the title as under 18 merit champion of the Mid Shropshire League he added the big one as The Junior County Merit Champion. Competition Secretary, Mike Potter thanked Meole Brace for their hospitality, staging the event, the parents for their supporting and not forgetting the young competitors and revealed both Harry & Susie will be representing Shropshire when they take their places in the All Britain finals day before inviting county President, Mike Caddick to make the presentation of the prizes to the worthy winners


Harry Church and Keiron Jones show off their trophies with County President Mike Caddick centre.


Winners Harry Church (left) and Kieran Jones (right)


The two finalists with Mike Caddick; the Winner Harry Church and runner-up Susie Lawson.


The 16 players who took part with County President Mike Caddick (far left) and Deputy President Isobel Jones (far right).

2017 Junior Merit Results