Senior Individual Merit History

We have had 7 winners of this competition, including the legend Dick Meyrick winning it 4 times. For history of the competition click here. 2016 Andy Moss had a fantastic run to the final of the Senior Individual Merit today at Llay Miners Welfare, but just dipped out in the final against Matt Gilmore 18, who remarkably won the title for the second time at the same venue as his first! Andy failed to recover from a poor start, trailing 13-4 and 19-12, and just couldn't get back at Matt, who pulled out some excellent woods when Andy led well, and did enough to hold on to his early lead. Andy had enjoyed a great run to the final though, beating Adam Harris 12, Scott Fisher 16, Andy Thornton 15, Leigh Burdett 16 and Glynn Cookson 17 in the Semi Finals. Pete Farmer and Wayne Rogers both enjoyed good runs reaching the last 16. Pete beat Martin Gilpin 12 and Gary Haslam 9 before losing to Wayne Dews 18, while Wayne beat Barrie Sadler 10, Danny Watson 19 before Stuart Perry beat him 14. Ian Gaut lost first game 10 to Damien Morrison of Lancashire. Greg Smith, who plays for Hanwood in the County, lost to Matt Gilmore 19 in the Semi Finals, Hanmer's Graham Bennett also lost to Gilmore in the Last 16, with Nick Jones and Mike Riley of Ifton and Donnington Wood's Dan Taylor losing second game and Mark Picknell of Wrockwardine Wood first. Well done to all the efforts from our qualifiers, especially to Andy who lost in his second final, 17 years after the first one. All of them did Shropshire proud and it surely is only a matter of time before we have another winner. Full scores are here.