Jack & Jean Isherwood Veterans Championships History

We have never had a winner in this competition. We get one or two qualifiers a year depending on entries. For a history of the competition please click here.
  • 2018 Finals
  • Cedric Bancroft managed to get through to the second round but lost out to last year's Spring Waterloo winner Mike Leach 21-12. He had beaten Merfyn Jones 9 first game, while Ian Smith lost out to Allan Parsons on a very quick Prees green. Ian Johnson beat Tony Freeth 18 in the final to earn his ticket to the Champion of Champions.
Full scores are here or here.
  • 2017 Finals
Geoff Davies reached the Quarter Finals of the BCGBA Jack & Jean Isherwood Veterans Championship sponsored by Grocontinental before losing 14 to eventual winner Gerald Merry of Cheshire. He had two good close wins before then beating Bob Brown 19 and Tommy Heyes 20. Gerald went on to beat Ronald Regan 17 in the final at Prees. Our other qualifier John Nash lost first game to Derek Ainsworth. Well done to Geoff on his good run today. The full results are here.
  • Qualifiers
John had beaten last year's qualifier Alan Boulton to qualify while Geoff Davies beat Keith Owen to qualify over at Monkmoor in the qualifiers on Monday 5th June.
  • 2016 Finals
Alan Boulton reached the Quarter Finals of the Groconintental Jack & Jean Isherwood Veterans before bowing out 15 to Tony Cavanagh, who lost to Noel Burrows in the final 18. Alan had beaten Chris Lord 14 and then John Bonatti 20 to get that far, with Noel Burrows getting his name on the trophy for the first time. Full scores are here. Qualifiers Adderley's Alan Boulton earned the one ticket for the Jack & Jean Isherwood Veterans on a tricky Hadnall green on a scorching day. It was all about the control of the bowls today with the sun blaring down, it was survival of the fittest! In the qualifier he beat Dave Brown of Bowring 10 to gain a place on Wednesday 6th July at Prees.
John Clarke 13 Keith Owen 21
Cedric Bancroft 21 Margaret Flatley 12
Alan Boulton 21 Pete Spragg 11
John Picken 21 John Nash 19
Les Willis 16 Geoff Davies 21
Tony Roche 8 Derek Flatley 21.
Last 8
Tony Parsons 10 Keith Owen 21
Cedric Bancroft 20 Alan Boulton 21
John Picken 21 Geoff Davies 17
Derek Flatley 16 Dave Brown 21
Last 4
Keith Owen 18 Alan Boulton 21
John Picken 17 Dave Brown 21
Alan Boulton 21 Dave Brown 10