Junior Merit

The Junior Merit is for male and female players aged under 18 on the 1st January of that year. It has been played for since 1974 and is played for the R.G. Meyrick Trophy in honour of the late great Dick Meyrick. The first round losers now go into the Peter Ashton Youth Trophy.

Ben Hinton won the 2019 Shropshire Junior Merit at Ash after beating Harry Parsonage in the final 17. He came back from 15-6 and 16-9 down to win the trophy for the first time. In the Semi Finals he led from the front against the winner for the last two years, Harry Church. He was 10-0 and 14-2 up against him and won 8. Harry also had a comfortable Semi Final win versus Charlie Hotchkiss when racing 13-3 up, and virtually ran out from 14-6 up.

Full scores are here.

Ben Hinton with the Junior Merit Trophy.
The Peter Ashton Youth Trophy Winner Joe Killen with Ben Hinton.
Finalists Ben Hinton and Harry Parsonage with Deputy President Wendy Icke.
The Semi Finalists in both competitions along with Deputy President Wendy Icke.
Back from left: Harry Church, Ben Hinton, Charlie Hotchkiss & Harry Parsonage.
Front from left: Akeel Khan, Josh Warner, Joe Killen & Kelly Price.
The finalists in the two competitions with Deputy President Wendy Icke.