Senior Merit

The Senior Merit is the pinnacle of Shropshire Bowls. It has been played for since 1913 and the winner receives the Charles Beddard Trophy. There are qualifiers in Shrewsbury, Telford and Whitchurch which produce a finals day of 32 to be played at a venue chosen by the year’s County President on the last Sunday of June.

2017 Details:

Mike Potter would personally like to thank on behalf of the SCGBA the following clubs that generously donated their time and green on Saturday or Sunday hosting a qualifying session of the Shropshire Senior Merit.

Below is a list of players that will be in tomorrows draw at the SCGBA executive meeting – note this is not the playing order on Finals Day at Pontesbury on Sun 25th June

1 Kieran Buckley…..Bowring
2 Glyn Herbert…..Castlefields
3 Josh Bradburn…..Bowring
4 Dave Gourlay…..Bridgewater
5 Dave Burton…..Hanwood
6 Craig Baugh…..Sir John Bayley
7 Gary Beff …..Woore
8 Colin Beaman…..Meole Brace
9 Rob Fuller…..Bylet
10 Mark Shore…..Hanwood
11 Tony Garmson …..Wrock. Wood
12 Phil Lyttle …..Hanwood
13 Andy Duckett…..Castlefields
14 Ian Gaut…..St Georges
15 Dave Ellison…..Hanmer
16 Glyn Wellings…..Hanwood
17 Martin Gaut…..Wrock. Wood
18 Callum Wraight…..Castlefields
19 Tony Rhodes……St. Georges
20 Jamie King…..Bowring
21 Adam Jones…..Castlefields
22 Rich Lawson…..Bowring
23 Clay Flattey…..St Georges
24 Paul Williams…..Castlefields
25 Glyn Picknell….St. Georges
26 Peter Bound….Meole Brace
27 Jamie Taylor….Bylet
28 Charlie Weaver…..Woore
29 Wayne Rogers …..Burway
30 Sam Millward…..Newport
31 Andrew Moss…..Chester Road
32 Nick Lewis…..Burway

Congratulations everyone, remember this is not the playing order.

Draw will be posted tomorrow.



Andy Moss headlined the qualifiers in the North Shropshire Area tonight and he and his Woore team mate Charlie Weaver were the only former winners to qualify. Andy got through at his former club Archibald Worthington after beating Steve Rogers 12 and Keith Wall 19. Andy’s team mate Gary Beff also made the finals day after getting past Scott Moseley 20 and Graham Dulson 15. Clay Flattley also qualified there beating Geoff Warner 14 and Alan Boulton 5, while the other qualifier was his Hanmer team mate Dave Ellison, who got past former team mate Melvyn Jenkins 18 and Matthew Beeston 10.

Full scores of these qualifiers are here.

Over at Whixall Charlie beat Cedric Bancroft and Ian McDonald both 11, while Jamie King and Phil Lyttle overcame green experience by both getting through having not seen it before. Jamie beat Gary Whitehall 11 on a falling mark before recovering from 12-3 against former winner Derek Wright to win 16 on a straight mark. Phil Lyttle was exceptional beating former champion Martin Lloyd 11 before running a 17 break on George Williams from 7-0 down on a diagonal mark over the crown and eventually winning 10. Dave Gourlay of Bridgwater was the other qualifier beating Matt Blackhurst 19 and then Paul Latham 11.

Full scores of these qualifiers are here.

There were some new names as well as some more established ones who took the 24 tickets on offer today for the Shropshire Senior Merit Finals at Pontesbury. Reigning champion Wayne Rogers made it through at Dorrington after beating Craig Wilson 14 and Carl Bowers 8. Also qualifying there were Castlefields team mates Adam Jones and Andy Duckett, and Dave Burton of Hanwood, who beat Derek Flattley 20 in the qualifier after a bye 1st round. Adam had to beat his namesake Chris 11 to qualify after getting past team mate Keith Walton 18 first round, while Andy beat Darren Powis 8 and then Wayne Phillips 14. Callum Wraight is in the mood for his third crown after qualifying comfortably, beating Graeme Wornell 11, Gary Neal 9 and Duncan Pressley 11 in his three games. His team mate and former winner Glyn Herbert got through beating Bill Tarrell 7 and Ash Wellings 18, running out from 18-12 down. Ash’s Hanwood team mate Mark Shore did get through comfortably beating his team mate Darren Phillips 9 and Phil Whatmough 8. Meole Brace captain Pete Bound was the other qualifier, defeating team mate Andy Wigginton 17 in the qualifier after getting past Sam Cartwright 19 in the 1st game. At the other Shrewsbury venue at Telepost, 1995 Colin Beaman got through along with Paul WilliamsGlyn Wellings and Nick Lewis. 

In Telford and several new names, mainly the younger bowlers, managed to get through. At Newport Jamie Taylor qualified for the first time, defeating 2015 champion Rob Roden 17 in the qualifier after beating Daniel Wilson 15 first round. Josh Bradburn returned to his decent competition form beating former team mate Stuart Clee 10 after defeating Simon Oldcorn first game 10. Tony Garmson from Wrockwardine Wood beat James Blair 18 and Andy Stevens 13 to get through, while Tony Rhodes is a former Semi Finalist and will want to go one better after getting past two Kings, Aaron and his uncle Dave, both 11. Down the road at Trench and youth dominated the four qualifying spots with Kieran BuckleyMartin Gaut and Rob Fuller all getting through. Kieran beat Daniel Tipton first game 11 then beat former winner Pete Farmer 16 to qualify. Rob Fuller came through two 20 games, beating former finalist Spencer Clarke and Paul Bradburne, while Martin Gaut qualified again after defeating former captain Tom Langford 17 and Matthew Rhodes 10, running out from 10 across. Glyn Picknell was the other qualifier, defeating Ryan Stevens 17 in the qualifier after getting past John Clarke 6 first game. At Maddocks and former finalist Rich Lawson had to qualify the hard way, beating Pete Grimston, Scott Harries and Tom Roden to get through. Also qualifying were Ian Gaut, who beat Liam Stevens, Sam Millward, who defeated Rob Jones, and Craig Baugh, who got past Rich Suggett. 

There are some results here, if you can give me the Telepost and Maddocks results then that would be great thanks.