On This Day: Shropshire win Crosfield Cup

This time 11 years ago Shropshire picked up the Crosfield Cup for only the second time with victory over Yorkshire. Below is how we did it.

We picked Meole Brace No.2 green for the final, a surprise choice given Yorkshire's experience of the Meole Open on it, but any concerns were dispersed very quickly. After Callum Wraight had bowled a toucher with his first bowl at number 1, Shropshire bowled superbly to open up a 24 shot lead with Simon Parsonage winning 4 and captain Glyn Herbert 8. At the away leg at the Waterloo despite no winners in the first four Shropshire managed to keep Yorkshire's lead down to just 20, before two 11 wins by man of the match Wayne Phillips and Martin Lloyd made it all level after eight. The lead had also increased at home, four winners in the middle led by Clay Flattley's 11 win meant a lead of 40 after eight and it was a case of when Shropshire won rather than if. They even managed to win away in Yorkshire after three winners at the back, Alan Palin the best 12, to achieve a 10 shot success. At home they eventually won by 34 but that didn't matter. All that mattered was that the "Gang of Four" had delivered and that Shropshire had got their hands on the Crosfield Cup after 35 years of hurt.

Man of the match at home, Simon Parsonage, was every bit relieved after his performance as "after putting in 14 hours of practice, I couldn't get them anywhere near on the Saturday. I never slept a wink on the Saturday night but this, well is brilliant!" The late great Dennis Lewis, one of the Gang of Four, loved every moment of the success, "I am absolutely delighted because of what this says about Shropshire bowls. The dedication and attitude of the player in the squad has been simply superb. I knew we would win it, but we - myself and my fellow selectors - were working to a three year plan, and a lot of people did not understand that." Elated home captain Glyn Herbert dedicated the triumph to the late Chris Wall. "This is the biggest moment in Shropshire bowls since 1974 and we were all over the moon. My commiserations to Yorkshire but this was our day!" I thank all my team mates for the way they have played over the year and all the clubs whose greens we used. More than anything though, as a Shropshire team, we dedicate this win to a young lad who his life tragically this year, Chris Wall. He was with us today."

Results for Final played on Sun 6th Sep

Click on Player for Individual results

1Callum Wraight1121Graeme Wilson
2Simon Parsonage214Craig Newton
3Dave Hoffman2118James Hanson
4Glyn Herbert218Lee Lawton
5Rich Goddard1921Mark Regan
6Clay Flattley2111James Wilcox
7Michael Dulson2118Nicky White
8Michael Beer2115Liam Griffin
9Keith Wall2119Graham Hickey
10Andy Duckett2120Jon Edmondson
11Paul Williams1821Chris Mordue
12Wayne Rogers1521Robert Hitchen
1Wayne Moseley2120Charlie Weaver
2Mick Robinson2117Peter Farmer
3Paul Sigsworth2116Alan Davidson
4Peter Jagger2111Chris Grocott
5Jack Dyson1121Wayne Phillips
6Dave Fox2120Spencer Clarke
7Steven Haigh2021Andy Moss
8Graham Higgins1121Martin Lloyd
9Scott Fisher1221Alan Palin
10Josh Pitt1621Derek Wright
11Harry Seehra1821Ian Gaut
12Ashley Daykin2114Colin Beaman
Den Nash
Selectors Dennis Lewis and John Nash with the Crosfield Cup.
Selector Dennis Lewis drinks from the Crosfield Cup.
Simon Parsonage during his 21-4 man of the match win.
The team at a celebration evening.

Check Also

Latest Info re Covid 19

Following the recent announcement and changes to the Covid Legislation we can confirm clubs can …