When Shropshire played South Yorkshire last.

With Shropshire meant to playing South Yorkshire today, we look back at the last time we played them, on a red hot Sunday 5th June 2016. The full match report is below.

Shropshire suffered a big scare today but still ended up winning by 14 overall against South Yorkshire to put one foot in the Semi Finals. They were down most of the way but came good at the end thanks to a 70 shot win at Wem USC. It was a tough start though as South Yorkshire played exceptionally well in the heat at Meersbrook as they took the first four winners to lead by 29. Shropshire hit back with two winners in the front four at home, Darren Wellings 7 and Rich Goddard 12 to lead by 18 there. In the middle and Shropshire did fight back away. Alex Jones led the way, being 10-1 and 12-4 down to come back on a round peg to win 13, and win Man of the Match both overall and for Shropshire. Despite Rich Lawson also winning 20, South Yorkshire extended their lead to 33. Over at Wem Shropshire had three winners led by Martin Lloyd's 8 win to extend their lead there to 40, and 7 shots overall after the two eights. We then had four winners in the back at Wem, Glyn Herbert the best 9, to win there by 70. And the back three at Meersbrook for Shropshire did the job only dropping 4 chalks between them, Tom Roden winning 19 to be the third winner there, to keep the deficit down to 56 overall.

The full scores are below.

PosShropshireScoreScoreSouth Yorkshire
1Rich Goddard2112David Poole
2Darren Wellings217Chris Brown
3Colin Beaman1821Bradley Massey
4Paul Williams1921Ross Meese
5Wayne Phillips1621Matthew Beever
6Kiah Roberts2115Kevin Nixon
7Clay Flattley2113Paul Bailey
8Martin Lloyd218Andrew Sorsby
9Callum Wraight2114Andrew Whitaker
10Michael Beer2119Dean Missere
11Glyn Herbert219Mark Booth
12Wayne Rogers2112Neil Fletcher
PosSouth YorkshireScoreScoreShropshire
1Peter Worfolk2113Scott Harries
2Andrew Turner2113Glyn Picknell
3Richard Atkin2111Andy Moss
4Gary Haslam2118Spencer Clarke
5Chris Kelly218Rob Roden
6Richard Jackson1321Alex Jones
7Sam Day2021Rich Lawson
8Chris Hill2117Jamie King
9Ryan Clark216Rob Burroughs
10Glyn Davies1921Tom Roden
11Jonathan Sneddon2119Derek Wright
12Joe Westell2117Stuart Rutter

Check Also

2021 County Officials: 1.2.21

President: Wendy IckeDeputy President: Mike PotterChairman: Phil ScottSecretary: Dawn GrayTreasurer: Reg MorrisMinute Secretary: Rob BurroughsSafeguarding: …