Shropshire Merit Qualifying Preview: North Shropshire

The road to becoming king of Shropshire starts tonight as the North Shropshire qualifiers get underway. There are 18 players at the changed venue of Nantwich Park Road and at Archibald Worthington bidding for the four spots at each to get through to finals day on Sunday 23rd June. There are some quality players at both venues, with former winner Martin Lloyd at Nantwich Park Road along with former runner ups Paul Latham and Rich Lawson. Andy Judson has enjoyed a good start to the season and Scott Thomas had a fine season last one which earned him a call up to the Midland Alliance side. Over at Archibald Worthington and there are no less than four former winners there. Andy Moss, Derek Wright, Pete Farmer and Charlie Weaver have all lifted this trophy before, while Clay Flattley is one of the most talented not to have done so. Sam Millward is an up and coming player who qualified last season, as well as Will Tyler who had a good run in the finals at Greenfields. Gary Beff reached the Semi Finals of the West Brom Open earlier this season and would love to recreate that form, while promising youngsters Jack Hewitt and Chris Stretch will look to qualify for the first time.
  • The list of players are below.

Check Also

On This Day: Shropshire Senior Merit 2016

Wayne Rogers won his first Flowfit Shropshire Senior Merit on Sunday at Wem Bowling Club …