2018 Review: Senior Merit

Spencer Clarke finally got his hands on the Charles Beddard Trophy at the third time of asking in the final. After final defeats in 2008 to Andy Moss and in 2014 to Rich Goddard he finally got third time lucky as he beat Callum Wraight 14 in the final. After a close start Spencer went 11-5 up in the corners before Callum got back to 13-12 down after shortening it up. Spencer then went up another gear in the corners again to run out from 16-14 up and break into tears as his Dad ran onto the green to congratulate him. Spencer had beaten Ash Wellings in the Semi Finals 14 after leading 10-4 in the corners. Callum had a closer game with Wayne Phillips with Wayne getting back to 12 across from 10-5 down but Callum found another gear to win 15. Tony Rhodes claimed the other All-England place after getting 19 against Wayne Phillips, but will be ruing leading 11-0 and 16-3 down a round peg before Wayne hit back with twos in the corners to run out from 19-15 down. Well done to Spencer on his maiden success, and to our other four All England qualifiers in the field. A big thank you to Greenfields who did an exceptional job of hosting. For more information on the earlier round look on the live blog here. Full scores are here. Please see below some pictures from the day too.

Spencer Clarke receives the Charles Beddard Trophy from County President Isobel Jones.

Spencer shows off the trophy.

Spencer with his Dad, who had watched and was a bag of nerves all day!

The two finalists, Spencer Clarke and Callum Wraight, with County President Isobel Jones centre.

The four Semi Finalists with County President Isobel Jones centre. From left, Wayne Phillips, Callum Wraight, Ash Wellings and Spencer Clarke.

The five All England qualifiers with County President Isobel Jones. From left, Wayne Phillips, Callum Wraight, Ash Wellings, Spencer Clarke & Tony Rhodes.


The full scores from the day.

  • Telford & Shrewsbury Qualifiers Report
The remaining 24 places were filled today by some familiar and not so familiar names. Reigning Champion Callum Wraight made it through at Telepost, but the guy who beat him in the Champion of Champions, Mike Beer, didn't as he was defeated by Julian Cooke, meaning that the finals will not be being held at Meole Brace. Callum had beaten Nigel Ferrington 10 and Danny Wornell 15 to get through, while Julian had defeated Graham Dulson 18 first game. Adrian Rowe is a former County Handicap winner and got through there too, getting past Ben Talbot 14 and 2016 winner Wayne Rogers 11. Nick Davies was the other qualifier, beating Andy Duckett 19 and Jon Lyttle 15. None of the former winners got through at Bicton with Meole Brace bowler Nige Bound beating two of them, Kiah Roberts 13 and Colin Beaman 16. Craig Wilson beat former winner Derek Wright 20 in the qualifier after getting past Pete Nicholls 15 first game, while Hanwood team mate Wayne Phillips qualified by defeating Doug Edwards 15 and Darren Powis 10. Adam Jones was the fourth to get through, beating Carl Bowers 10 and Bill Tarrell 16. The other qualifier in Shrewsbury was at Crescent, with two more Hanwood players qualifying. Mark Shore had to beat his team mate Glyn Wellings 5 to qualify, with Glyn's son, Ash, defeating another team mate in Sam O'Nions 16. Duncan Pressley qualified too after beating Peter Bound 17 and Paul Williams 18. Will Tarrell was the final qualifier after overcoming Graeme Wornell 18 and Harry Parsonage 5. In Telford and the only former winner Rob Roden qualified at Sinclair, beating Martin Williams 15 and Craig Baugh 10. Fellow youngester Dan Taylor beat Steve Burroughs 13 to get through, while Kane Beaman beat Sir John Bayley team mate Michael Cooper 18 and Ian Gaut 14. Stuart Rutter was the other qualifier by defeating Andy Morgan 10. Former runner up Spencer Clarke qualified at St Georges Bottom Green by beating Tim Cotton 11 and Aaron King 15. Rob Clarke beat young guns Rob Fuller 14 and Kieran Buckley 18 to qualify, while Nick Mullinder got through by beating Martin Gaut 19 and Liam Stevens 17. Sam Millward kept up his good start to the season by qualifying, beating fellow in form players Tom Roden 16 and Stuart Clee 13. Scott Harries got through at Albrighton by defeating James Blair 13 and Ryan Mills 18, as well as former semi finalist Tony Rhodes who beat team mate Dave King 11 after getting past Chris Worthington 18. Andy Stevens qualified again despite not playing any league bowls so far this season, beating Dave Rhodes 15, while Josh Cotton qualified for the first time after getting past Peter Grimston 16 and Rob Jones 15. The full results are here.
  • Whitchurch Qualifiers Report
Big names galore got through in Whitchurch as three former winners all booked their place on finals day on Sunday 24th June. Four time winner Pete Farmer got through at Chester Road, beating Josh Warner 11 and Alan Faulkner 15, while Martin Lloyd and Charlie Weaver both qualified at Adderley. Martin defeated Tim Jordan 11 and Carl Preece 6 and Charlie got past Woore team mate Paul Latham 17 and Richard Proudlove 11. Former finalists Rich Lawson and Keith Wall both got through looking to go one better. Rich got through at Chester Road by beating Jamie Brookes 18 and Alan Boulton 10 while Keith did so at Adderley by getting past Steve Rogers 9 and Dave Ellison 12. Clay Flattley was the last qualifier at Adderley by beating Cedric Bancroft 7 and Liam Jones 16. Former county player Mike Dulson qualified at Chester Road by overcoming former two time winner Rich Goddard 19 and then Allan Bailey 15. The final qualifier was youngster Will Tyler, who defeated Matt Beeston 20 and Edward Proudlove 6. The full results from Adderley are here. The full results from Chester Road are here.

Check Also

New BCGBA Guidance on Phase 2a

Please find new guidance from the BCGBA below. Please note that I have not been able …