Wrockwardine Wood Open 2018 Qualifying Preview

There are many big names that have entered the Wrockwardine Wood Open to get their hands on the chance to make next year's Champion of Champions if it gets in on reserve. The first morning sees Castlefields' Callum Wraight try and end the season the way he started it after he won the Meole Brace Open, however he openly admits that he doesn't like the old green. Wayne Phillips of Hanwood is another local competition player that can go far, as well as Ian Gaut from St Georges who has plenty of experience on the green. Another player with experience of the green is former homester Scott Harries from Bylet. Michael Lynch reached the final of the George Masters just two weeks ago so is in good form, as well as Elliot McGuinness who won the Bowls Comps Floodlit competition just last week. Barry Booth of the Potteries and District is an experienced campaigner, while Jack Whitehead is at the other end of the spectrum but is an up and coming player as well as Reece Farr. Saturday Afternoon is when some big Shropshire County players take part, including Bowring's Rich Lawson, Newport's Pete Farmer, a former winner, Burway's Kiah Roberts, Clay Flattley of St Georges and Castlefields' Paul Williams. There are some major names coming from the Midlands which include the North Midlands Merit winner Darren Plenderleith and Warwick and Worcester Merit winner Carl Fielding. Dan Petcher has won many big competitions, and his county team mate Connor Chamberlain has also won big competitions, and reached the Midland Masters finals last month. Gordon Hawkins and Chris Ward come over from Staffordshire while Paul Hemming, fresh from helping George win them the Super Cup, also takes part. Former Autumn Waterloo winner Ivan Smout is there and this year's Sandal Classic champion Dean Missere makes the long journey down from South Yorkshire. Sunday Morning sees former winner Scott Simpson take part, along with another player who enjoys the green, Mike Beer of Castlefields. Wem USC pair Derek Wright and Pete Bound know how to go far in major competitions, as well as Russ Pegram and Phil Clinton. Newport Salop Leisure Shropshire Premier Bowling League skipper Sam Millward had a great run in both the St Georges and Meole opens and will look to do so again in a Shropshire open competition. Paul Evans and competition players Kirk Stevens and Glyn Storer will also be expected to get close to getting through. The afternoon session is perhaps the most open session of them all. Warwick and Worcester youngster Adam Patrick will look to use his competition experience, while Staffordshire pair Simon Homer and Jamie Wyer will also that experience. Tony Rhodes of St Georges will look to use his green knowledge to his advantage, with Warwick & Worcester youngsters James and Ash Bracken and Adam Kirby hoping to get their name on their first major competition. Wrockwardine Wood Open 2018 List of Entrants – THIS IS NOT THE DRAW Saturday 20th October 10.00am (9.45 practise)... Adam Weaver Mark Selley Wayne Phillips Kane Beaman Chris Worthington Barry Booth James Martin Ashley Tattersley Adam Walker Callum Wraight Dan Wilson Reece Farr Nick Wyer Darrell Handley Kevin Handley Ian Gaut Gary Whitehall Connor Whitehall Wayne Rogers Peter Thomas Roy Bradburn Phil King Jack Whitehead Elliott McGuiness Michael Lynch Ben Lynch Dave Ellison Will Childs Scott Harries Tom Skelding Liam Cruise-Taylor (tbc) Molly Sullivan (tbc)
Saturday 20th October 2.00pm (1.45 practise) Dan Petcher Phil Bundred Mike Davies Chris Ward Gordon Hawkins Darrell Matkin Matt Farmer Kevin Hocknull Peter Farmer Ashley Gregory Paul Chamberlain Connor Chamberlain Lewis Belcher Richard Lawson Nigel Ferrington Adrian Jennings Martin Codd Ivan Smout Kiah Roberts Dean Missere James Higgins Clay Flattley Paul Williams Scott Moseley Keiran Jones Les Smith Mark Thomas Neil Kershaw Darren Plenderleith Carl Fielding Tracy Baker Paul Hemming Sunday 21st October 10.00am (9.45practise) Michael Beer Scott Simpson Will Tarrell Russell Prosser John Price Richard Dandy Jason Colledge David Clarke Derek Wright Peter Bound Bill Staite Stuart Gittings Nathan Dawes Sam Millward Jon Lyttle Jimmy Fagan Andy Howie Dave Clarke Matt Higgins Martyn Higgins Chris Baker Rob Steventon Paul Evans Lee Woodfield Kirk Stevens Glyn Storer Natty Tonks Michael Warrington Paul Tonks Danny Edkins Russ Pegram Phil Clinton Sunday 21st October 2.00pm (1.45 practise) Craig Baugh James Bracken Ash Bracken Adam Kirby Greg Fordham Chris Marshman Jason McLoughlin Adam Patrick Paul Patrick Jordan Patrick Jamie Wyer Simon Homer Felix Abba Adam Dickerson Aiden Richardson Michael Cooper Ayden Smith Dave Lloyd Curtis Metcalfe Chris Newbrook Tony Rhodes Mick Hodgkinson Matt Bates Simon Green James Blair Nigel Egan Tim Jones Chris Gill Tony Gill Cedric Bancroft Jan Wakefield Paul Beechey If you wish to go on reserve list please contact me Strutt 07870 861379

Check Also

Latest link from the BCGBA 25.3.20

Guidance on what should be closed in relation to outdoor pitches is here. Extract on Outdoor …