KGJ Insurance County Cup Final 2017 Review

Ahead of Saturday's KGJ Insurance County Cup Final, we look back at last year's final. St Georges won their 12th County Cup in 2017 after edging out Ifton in a thriller which went down to the last game on the green. It was Tom Langford who was the hero for the Dragons as he was left on the green with Ian Metcalf with the scores dead level, and he won 18 to cue delirious scenes from the team. It was a close game throughout with only 7 chalks separating the teams after the first four, Dave King the main difference winning 11, which earned him the man of the match award. In the middle and the winners were shared again, with Martin Jones the best card of the night for the Miners winning 8 helping them only trail by 5. But once St Georges skipper Tony Rhodes won 7 to extend the lead to 19 it looked like they were on the verge of winning. But Kieron Roberts won 12 and then Dave Bond 11 to make it dead level but Tom was always ahead of Ian, leading 16-10 before Ian got back to 20-18 but Tom got out next end. Proud winning captain Tony Rhodes said "it was a fantastic final which as the last game is on the scores are level. Who ever wins the last game wins. As Tom is left on his own he's 16-10 up and we're positive. At 19-18 things are different but Tom hung on and plus 3 it ends up. Great respect between the two side and a great final!" Full scores are here. _DSC4162b

Delighted skipper Tony Rhodes with the F.G. Burdass trophy.


Ifton captain Dickie Jones with the runner-up trophy.


Dave King won the "Wishy Dodd" Man of the Match Trophy.


The three prize winners with County President Mike Caddick.


St Georges celebrate their success.


Ifton before the final. Back, from left: Dave Bond, Leighton Roberts, Kieron Roberts, Darren Lacey Craig Griffiths, Geraint Williams, Ian Metcalfe & Curtis Metcalfe.

Front from left: Brian Hayes, Sam Williams, Martin Jones, Nicky Jones & Dicky Jones (Captain).


Winners St Georges before the final. Back from left: Tony Rhodes (Captain), Nigel Evans, Pete Grimston, Carl Hazlehurst, Lewis Scott, Matthew Rhodes & Jim Kellett.

Front from left: Dave King, Tom Langford, Clay Flattley, Mike Wainwright & Ian Gaut.

Check Also

Club AGMs

Below are some of the club AGMs coming up: Madeley Cricket Club - Wednesday 15th …