Shropshire v Wales Senior County Preview

Shropshire take on Wales today in their second Senior County game hoping to build on their opening win over Warwick and Worcester. For this reason we have gone to our banker green in Pontesbury, and this could be a masterstroke given Wales are taking us to their artificial green on Betws-yn-Rhos, just like they did in 2006, where we lost by 57. Only Andy Moss remains from that team though, so it will be a case of how well we adapt to the "carpet". Selector Mick Jones comments "we don't want to waste the win over Warwick and Worcester and that's why we have picked one of our banker greens in Pontesbury. We thought Wales would take us to their carpet at Betws-yn-Rhos because, after losing to Derbyshire, they know they can't go anywhere unless they beat us. So we have picked proven bowlers on Pontesbury with the aim of getting the job done." There are three changes to the side with Alex Jones unavailable and Stuart Rutter and Spencer Clarke left out. In comes Ash Wellings and Paul Reeves for their debuts, both rewarded for their fine form, and Pete Grimston returns after a year out. "Spencer Clarke is struggling and he rang me and agreed he should be left out. As for Stuart Rutter, he's a good player but we have to be fair to everybody as we have got some good players coming through." There will be some familar faces over in the Wales team, with several Ifton players taking their place in the team. So please try your best to come and support the team at Pontesbury or away in Wales so that Shropshire have the best chance to overcome this difficult game and put one foot in the Semi Finals. For those who can't, live scores are here. Draw: Home Venue: Pontesbury Nags Head Green. Address: The Nags Head, Pontesbury, SY5 0QD 1) Rich Goddard v Leighton Roberts 2) Callum Wraight v Paul Hallett 3) Darren Wellings v Geraint Williams 4) Kiah Roberts v Richard Zolman 5) Clay Flattley v Robin Bennett 6) Glyn Herbert v Nick Jones 7) Ashley Wellings v Arwel Davies 8) Wayne Phillips v Darren Lacey 9) Adie Rowe v Keiron Roberts 10) Colin Beaman v Simon Tyler 11) Michael Beer v Andrew Hughes 12) Wayne Rogers v Craig Griffiths
Shropshire Reserves: Jolyon Partridge, Spencer Clarke, Stuart Rutter. Wales Reserves: Ian Dutton, Andrew Armstrong, Martin Jones, Dave ‘Dickie’ Jones, David A Jones, Daniel Hughes, Graham Rogers. Away Venue: Betws-yn-Rhos Bowling Club, Dolwen Road, Betws-yn-Rhos, LL22 8AP 1) Andy Moss v Jason Jones 2) Rich Lawson v Geraint Jones 3) Scott Harries v Michael Pritchard 4) Glyn Picknell v John Short 5) Peter Grimston v Adam Penlington 6) Robert Roden v Nick Hughes 7) Phil Emery v Barry Harris 8) Rob Burroughs v Paul Walley 9) Paul Reeves v Keith Bailey 10) Jamie King v Francis Penlington 11) Martin Lloyd v Steve Lawley 12) Tom Roden v Neale Charlton Shropshire Reserves: Dave King, Aaron King, Josh Bradburn. Welsh Reserves: Steve Dace, Kris Charlton, Mark Whiteley, Christian Pattinson, Ivor Jones, Geraint Booth.

Check Also

On This Day: Shropshire Senior Merit 2016

Wayne Rogers won his first Flowfit Shropshire Senior Merit on Sunday at Wem Bowling Club …