Junior Merit: A History

The Junior Merit takes place on Sunday at Meole Brace and we look back at the history of the competition, with thousands of Juniors having played for the R.G. Meyrick Trophy since 1974. Several players have won it twice, with Kiah Roberts, Mike Beer, Callum Wraight, Ian Booth and Rich Lawson all doing so, ironically all doing it on the bounce. Castlefields are the most successful club in the competition, having 5 winners, 4 of them different. No player has lost in the final twice, but some players have lost in one final then won it in another year. Aaron King is the current reigning champion, can he make it two on the bounce Sunday or can Jack Butler or Adam Dovey bounce back from their final losses? As you can see there are some gaps in the history of the Junior Merit. So if you can help me fill them please get in touch with me, be great if we could have a full history.
Year Winner Club Runner-up Club
2015 Aaron King Bowring Jack Butler Hanmer
2014 Justin Pegram Newport Adam Dovey Burway
2013 Ash Gregory Hadley USC
2012 Kiah Roberts Burway Jamie King St Georges
2011 Kiah Roberts Burway Jon Mansell Hanwood
2010 George Balshaw Meole Brace Sam O'Nions Prince Hotel
2009 Ash Wellings Hanwood Lee Wilding Craven Arms
2008 Rob Roden Bowring Josh Bradburn Bowring
2007 Mike Beer Castlefields Ben Talbot Hanwood
2006 Mike Beer Battlefield Craig Wilson Bicton
2005 Perry Evans Unison
2004 Callum Wraight Castlefields
2003 Callum Wraight Castlefields Stuart Clee Wrockwardine Wood
2002 Scott Harries Bylet Ryan Stevens Wrockwardine Wood
2001 Ian Booth Childs Ercall Mark Taylor Charlton
2000 Ian Booth Audlem Craig Davies Bowring
1999 Gary Neal Royal Mail Rich Addison Telepost
1998 Stuart Long Greenfields Gary Neal Royal Mail
1997 Nick Mullinder Charlton Charlie Weaver Audlem
1996 Ian Weaver Hanwood Andy Williams Bicton
1995 Andy Williams Bicton Scott Thomas Wem B.C.
1994 Clay Flattley Wem B.C. Will Tarrell Hanwood
1993 Martin Budworth Chester Road Andy Kershaw Chester Road
1992 Neil Walker Castlefields Adrian Jennings Severnside
1991 Gareth Ingram Meole Brace Wayne Price Sir John Bayley
1990 Spencer Clarke Sir John Bayley Adrian White Trench
1989 John Chesters Tilstock Mark Downey Malpas Sports
1988 Ian Lealand Sir John Bayley Ian Dowley Wem USC
1987 Mark Hinks Meole Brace Chris Massey
1986 Rich Lawson Donnington Wood John Chesters Tilstock
1985 Rich Lawson Donnington Wood Alan Davidson Newport
1984 Alan Dodd Oxon David Jones
1983 Alan Davidson Newport Wayne Phillips Hanwood
1982 Andrew Hardman Andrew Stephens Pontesbury
1981 Rich Goddard Castlefields Paul Williams Castlefields
1980 Mark Burroughs Sir John Bayley Rich Goddard Castlefields
1979 Alan Lewis Bylet
1978 Peter Bound Andy Stevens Donnington Wood
1977 Ron Lawson Donnington Wood Nigel Bound Ford
1976 Mostyn Breakwell St Julians
1975 Martin Codd Castlefields Paul Williams Castlefields
1974 Allan Gaut Donnington Wood Ray Derricott Archibald Worthington

Check Also

Vacancy –

Just to remind you that I will be standing down as County Secretary at the …