Shropshire v Greater Manchester Preview

Shropshire go into today's game knowing that any win over Greater Manchester will get them into the semi finals. Greater Manchester cannot qualify and only a loss for Shropshire and a 68 chalk swing along with a South Yorkshire win will deny them a place in the Semi Finals. For this reason they have chose Bowring, a green that has never been used before. Selector Mick Jones says "We are just trying the green as we have a little room for manoeuvre and as a lot of the lads like it." There are no changes to the 24 players, only switching round between the two sides, "because everybody in the squad is doing the business so we don't want to upset the balance by chopping and changing. We are reasonably happy with the way things are going and all the away players keeping their places is reward for a fantastic performance they put in to only lose by 56 at Meersbrook Park last month. It was one of the hardest green I've ever seen and South Yorkshire were thinking they would beat us on it by 85. The back three that day (Tom Roden, Derek Wright and Stuart Rutter) did really well" explains Mick. Shropshire are helped by the fact that one of the game's greats Gary Ellis is not playing as he prepares for finals day in the Wigan Subs Classic, but still know they need to put in a performance to get through to the Semi Finals, where they would meet the winner of Merseyside and North Lancs & Fylde. But Mick is looking at "getting the job done against Greater Manchester first. We know what we have to do and we have the bowlers to do it. And we know the likes of Warwick and Worcester are taking notice of it!" You can follow all the action here.
Shropshire versus Greater Manchester
Sunday 3rd July 2016 at 2.00pm
Home venue Bowring (2) Bowring Park, Haygate Road, Wellington, TF1 2BN
Player Club versus Player Club
Scott Harries Bylet 1 Jack Hargreaves G & Dragon
Spencer Clarke SJ Bayley 2 Dean Ferris Grapes
Glyn Picknell St. Georges 3 Andy Proctor Nursery
Darren Wellings Meole Brace 4 Matt Gillies Nimble Nook
Clay Flattley Castlefields 5 Andy Raymond Altrincham Boro
Alex Jones SJ Bayley 6 John Davies Fallowfield
Rob Burroughs Hadley USC 7 Paul Heap Springbank
Wayne Phillips Hanwood 8 John Ashton Royton CC
Callum Wraight Castlefields 9 Simon Brown Springbank
Colin Beaman Meole Brace 10 Steve Copeland Springbank
Tom Roden SJ Bayley 11 Tim Holt Syke
Sturart Rutter Wrockwardine Wood 12 Stephen Leach Syke
Reserves from Reserves
Player Club Player Club
Nigel Evans St. Georges Ben Gloag Hopwood
Sam Millward Newport Colin Price G & Dragon
Phil Emery Newport Ben Stapleton Buersil
Rob Steventon Bylet
Officials Officials
Phil Scott President Graham Flint President
Mick Jones Selector Colin Price Manager
Barry Jennings Chairman
Away Venue: Springbank Bowling Club, Albion Street (off Queens Road), Chadderton, Oldham, OL9 9HT
Player Club versus Player Club
Rich Goddard Castlefields 1 Darren Griffiths Nimble Nook
Rich Lawson Bowring 2 David Walker Grapes
Glyn Herbert Castlefields 3 Chris Heyes G & Dragon
Paul Williams Castlefields 4 Steve Squire Nimble Nook
Kiah Roberts Burway 5 Ryan Bancroft G & Dragon
Jamie King Bowring 6 Paul Leah Ashton CC
Andy Moss Chester Road 7 Darren Wardle Hopwood
Robert Roden Bowring 8 Nigel Greenhalgh Hopwood
Martin Lloyd Chester Road 9 Dave Knott Openshaw AEU
Derek Wright Wem USC 10 Charlie Roberts G & Dragon
Michael Beer Castlefields 11 Mike Gee Grapes
Wayne Rogers Burway 12 Gareth Gwillam Ashton CC
Reserves from Club Reserves Club
Aaron King Bowring Mike Holden Syke
David Lloyd Bowring Anthony Walker G & Dragon
Andrew Judson Castlefields Keith McHugh Hopwood
Officials Officials
Mike Caddick Deputy President Keith McHugh Manager
John Coxill Selector Mike Holden Secretary
Peter Bound Selector
Mo Corley Secretary

Check Also

Vacancy –

Just to remind you that I will be standing down as County Secretary at the …